Bravo! TCFF 2016 fires on all cylinders.

This is the post excerpt.

Bravo! Indeed, TCFF 2016 fires on all cylinders.  

I was gobsmacked by my response to this year’s festival.  Each year the festival has raised the bar on what it can achieve and this year took it to a new level. What an amazing experience.  The emotional resonance of those five days wove an experience that was both spiritual and metaphysical in scope and duration. Let me recap the films and people of this year’s festival.

“Women in Oversized Men’s Shirts”

Right from the start I was beguiled by this Norwegian film. It was a delight in many ways. Set in Trondheim, Norway where my son was working. And my wife and daughter were in the air headed there as I watched the film. The Q&A via Skype with director Yngvild Sve Flikke allowed me the honor of thanking her for her film and sharing my Norwegian lineage. Afterwards I had a chance thanks Deborah Cutler who did the Q&A and her husband Chapin Cutler of Boston Light and Sound for being part of what makes the festival so great.

“Kings of Kallstadt”

To hear the citizens of Kallstadt declare that a common trait they all have is being boastful somehow made Donald Trump’s pride and self-satisfaction in achievements, possessions, and abilities less ludicrous.

“The Last Reel”

Chapin Cutler told me after “Women in Oversized Men’s Shirts” that he would be happy with the film festival if he only saw this one film. That it was set in an old mouldering abandoned movie theatre in Cambodia was all I needed to know when making my selections. Kudos to the festival for flying in Director Kulikar Sotho Saturday for a special screening at 11:00pm Saturday with a Q&A with Michael Moore and awarded the Founders Grand Prize for Best Film. (By the way check out The Southeast Asia Movie Theater Project – http://seatheater.blogspot.com/)

“One Wild Moment”

A delightful sexy French film about boundaries that makes you cringe.  

“Gleason”

Not an easy film to commit to seeing but with a huge emotional payoff (maybe I should say payout). Excellent!

“Do Not Resist”

I knew this to be an urgent look into the militarization of American police. That this is happening in our country is outrageous. I had to close my eyes contravening my code that shutting down is not an option.  Director Craig Atkinson did Q&A afterwards and rescued me from my withdrawal.  His father was an officer for 29 years in a city bordering Detroit and became a member of SWAT when his city formed a team in 1989. Craig said “It’s my hope that both community members and officers working hard to challenge the culture of policing within their departments use this film to illustrate the dire need for change.”

“Cameraperson”

Cinematographer Kirsten Johnson documentary uses footage she has shot over her career and it was enthralling and profoundly humanist journey.  In the credits it is revealed that she co-parents her children with neighbors Ira Sachs a filmmaker and Boris Torres a painter in Manhattan.

“A Conspiracy of Faith”

I remembered seeing the excellent “The Keeper of Lost Causes” at TCFF 2014 so I was primed for another Department Q mystery.  This was equally dark and suspenseful with the added fillip being that the serial killer is Norwegian. It makes me blanch thinking about it. Just great!

PANEL | WHO LET THE WOMEN IN?

Nancy Buirski – director “By Sidney Lumet”  

Kirsten Johnson – director “Cameraperson”

Melissa Gilbert – two time president SAG, writer & actress “One Smart Fellow”

Kamala Lopez – director “Equal Means Equal”

Maris Curran – director “Five Nights In Maine”

Deborah Riley Draper – “Olympic Pride, American Prejudice”

Logan Kibens director “Operator”

Darcy Dennett – director “The Champions”

Elyse Steinberg – writer, producer, director “Weiner”

Amy Smart – actor “Sister Cities”

Sean Hanish – director “Sister Cities”

Christine Lahti – actress, “Operator”

Meghan O’Hara – director “The C Word”

Anne Thompson – moderator – editor of Indiewire

Wow, what an impressive group of women! Anne Thompson I have been reading throughout her career in film journalism. And I sat next to Chris who did post production on “Olympic Pride, American Prejudice”.

I had to listen again to Nancy Buirski talk about her next project because it was so startling. 

Nancy said her next project is to direct and produce The Rape Of Recy Taylor, the true story of a 24-year-old wife and mother who was gang raped in Alabama by seven white men in 1944. Rape of black women was as prevalent as the lynching of black men. The NAACP put Roa Parks their “top rape investigator” on the case. It is based on “At the Dark End of the Street–Black Women, Rape and Resistance” by Wayne State University historian Danielle L. McGuire. You can find her at the 1hr & 23 min point of the panel: https://www.facebook.com/TCFilmFest/videos  Also read:

http://www.theroot.com/articles/culture/2011/02/recy_taylor_a_symbol_of_jim_crows_forgotten_horror/

“Olympic Pride, American Prejudice”

A really solid piece of archival research pieced together in way that brought to life these 18 Black American athletes competing at the 1936 Berlin Summer Olympics. The history we don’t know is so important and I admire those who do this kind of work.

“Jeremiah Tower: The Last Magnificent”

This was a pleasure. Having him on stage followed with the delicious food made it a unique festival event.

“Presenting Princess Shaw”

Another unexpected pleasure. And Samantha Montgomery on stage! You go girl!

“Taxi”

I did not expect something so simply plotted to have such resonance. Jafar Panahi is a great director and humanitarian. And his protest against censorship must be heard.

As I was leaving Milliken theatre I saw Directors Chris Hegedus and D.A. Pennebaker and sat down to share about Janis Joplin and “Monterey Pop” which D.A. made in 1968. I had just watched the 2015 film “Janis: Little Girl Blue” by Amy Berg. It includes footage shot by D.A. Pennebaker of her singing “Ball And Chain” which makes me cry.  He gave me a ticket to their new film “Unlocking The Cage”. Janis Joplin – Ball And Chain (Amazing Performance at Monterey)

“The Champions”

As a lifelong lover of dogs I fell in love with these “dangerous dogs”. A reminder of the good work to be done with all God’s creatures.

“Cooking Up a Tribute”

My patience with this film paid off as it was tour of places I’ve never been and food and drink I’ve not tasted. Followed with food served in foyer of The City Opera House!

“Unlocking The Cage”

Animal rights lawyer Steven Wise is working to break down the legal wall that separates animals from humans, by filing the first lawsuits that seek to transform a chimpanzee from a ‘thing’ with no rights to a ‘person’ with legal protections. Hit me right between the eyes and went to my heart.

Party | Filmmaker Party

I had a ticket but the Q&A with Directors Chris Hegedus and D.A. Pennebaker after “Unlocking The Cage” kept me in my seat and it was pretty much wound down by the time I got there. I did get to hug my friend Mark Cousins and then I ran into Ira Deutchman and thanked him for his participation as a moderator.

Man with a Movie Camera with the Alloy Orchestra

The Alloy Orchestra: Roger Miller, Terry Donahue & Ken Winokur I’ve known for over twenty years and they performed for me at The Bay Theatre. Great artists performing for great silent film classics. Always a must see!

“Concerto: A Beethoven Journey”

A great Norwegian pianist playing Beethoven, I don’t believe the sound system was ever more glorious sounding then for this superb film. I literally cried it was so moving.  Director Phil Grabsky and Leif Ove Andsnes on stage for Q&A after which I told Leif Ove how moved I was. Wow!

A MAN CALLED OVE

I’m half Swedish so this was the perfect ending, a film that was getting great word-of-mouth throughout the festival. I loved it.  

So this was my festival.

Then a week later I read “A Letter to Orson”.  Which ends with this:

“Orson, you gave me the movies, and they took me in their arms.” – Mark Cousins

It is perfect capstone to a wonderful experience.

Thank You All

Bob Bahle

 

Leave a comment